الرئيسية / من نحن / المجلس التنفيذي للمركز العربي للدراسات الجينية
المجلس التنفيذي للمركز العربي للدراسات الجينية
Arab Genomic Studies
د. محمود طالب آل علي
مدير المركز العربي للدراسات الجينية

الدكتور محمود طالب آل علي هو استشاري علم الوراثة ورئيس مركز دبي لعلم الوراثة ومركز دبي لدم الحبل السري والأبحاث ومساعد مدير علم الأمراض والخدمات الوراثية لدى هيئة صحة دبي. إضافة إلى ذلك فهو يتولى منصب مدير المركز العربي للدراسات الجينية منذ تأسيسه في سنة 2002 وهو الأمين العام لمؤسسة سمو الشيخ سلطان بن خليفة آل نهيان الإنسانية والعلمية (منذ تأسيسها في عام 2011؛ www.sita.ae; www.sbkf.ae). يُدَرِّسُ الدكتور العلي أيضًا في كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية بجامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كأستاذ مساعد في قسم الكيمياء الحيوية منذ عام 2001.

الدكتور آل علي حاصل على بكالوريوس في علوم المختبرات الإكلينكية من جامعة كنتاكي بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ودرجة الدكتوراه في الكيمياء الحيوية والبيولوجيا الجزيئية من جامعة "يونيفيرسيتي كلج لندن" الطبية بالمملكة المتحدة. بعد تلقيه تدريبًا خاصًا في التقنيات الحديثة في تشخيص الاضطرابات الأيضية في كلية الطب بجامعة ميدلسكس بلندن سنة 1996، استحدث بمفرده كامل قسم علم الوراثة الاستقلابية الذي بات يخدم حاليًا المنطقة بأسرها.

وقد شغل الدكتور آل علي عدة مناصب هامة؛ منها منصب مدير مشروع في مركز دبي لدم الحبل السري والأبحاث والخلايا الجذعية التابع لهيئة الصحة في دبي عام 2005، وهو عضو اللجنة التنفيذية وعضو مؤسس في مجمع دبي للتقنيات الحيوية والأبحاث "دوبايوتيك" (2005-2008)، ومساعد مدير مستشفى الوصل لخدمات الدعم السريري (2000-2002)، ورئيس جمعية الإمارات للثلاسيميا (2001-2002)، ورئيس قسم المختبرات الاتحادية بالإمارات الشمالية بوزارة الصحة الإماراتية (1993-1994)، ورئيس قسم الكيمياء السريرية والمناعة بمستشفى الكويت في الشارقة بالإمارات العربية المتحدة (1988-1991).

خلال هذه الفترة الطويلة من حياته المهنية، اكتسب الدكتور آل علي خبرة واسعة ليس فقط في مجال التشخيص السريري واضطرابات الاستقلاب الوراثية، ولكن أيضًا في الإدارة العامة. وقد حصل على العديد من الجوائز تقديرًا لعمله منها جائزة الموظف المتميز للعام (2001-2002، عن القطاع الحكومي في دبي، من سمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم؛ إضافة إلى جائزة إنجازات الخدمات الصحية في الشرق الأوسط (2005) من الاتحاد الدولي للمستشفيات بسويسرا وجائزة موظف العام (2001؛ من دائرة الصحة والخدمات الطبية التابعة لهيئة الصحة في دبي)، وجائزة الشيخ راشد العلمية (1994؛ من قبل حاكم دبي) والكولونيل الفخري لكنتاكي (1987؛ من حاكم ولاية كنتاكي بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)، والمواطن الفخري لريتشموند (1987؛ من عمدة ريتشموند بولاية كنتاكي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)، والمنحة الدراسية الرئاسية (1986-1987 التي تمنحها جامعة كنتاكي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)، وقائمة العميد الفخري (1984 – 1985 في جامعة كنتاكي بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية).

وقد ترأس د. آل علي أيضًا العديد من اللجان المهنية، من بينها رئاسة العديد من المؤتمرات واللجان كمؤتمر الجينوم البشري (2011)، واللجان العلمية للدورات الأولى والثانية والثالثة والخامسة للمؤتمر العربي لعلوم الوراثة المنعقدة في دبي في السنوات (2006 و 2008 و 2010 و 2013 على التوالي)، واللجنة العلمية الإقليمية للمؤتمر الدولي العاشر والثالث عشر للثلاسيميا واعتلالات الهيموغلوبين في دبي وأبوظبي على التوالي (2006 و 2013)، ومؤتمر دبي الدولي لمسببات الأمراض (2005)، والمؤتمر العربي للمختبرات المنعقد في دبي (2004)، ومؤتمر دبي الدولي لعلوم الوراثة (2004). وقد ألقى الدكتور عدة محاضرات في مؤتمرات وطنية وإقليمية ودولية ونُشرت له العديد من الأبحاث في المجلات الخاضعة لمراجعة النظراء. د. آل علي هو عضو نشط في عدة لجان مختصة في التدريب والتنظيم والبحث، وهو الباحث الرئيسي في المشروع البحثي للمركز العربي للدراسات الجينية الذي دخل منذ عام 2011 في مرحلته الثالثة من الأبحاث بتعاون دولي من سويسرا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وقد أدى هذا المشروع الناجح إلى اكتشاف جينين جديدين لانْعِدَامُ النِّصْفِ الظُّنْبُوبِيِّ للطَّرَف، وقد نشرت نتائج الدراسة في المجلة الامريكية لعلوم الوراثة الطبية في يوليو 2006 والمجلة الأمريكية لعلوم الوراثة البشرية في يناير 2007.

Home / About CAGS / Executive Board of the CAGS
Executive Board of the CAGS
Arab Genomic Studies
Mahmoud Taleb Al Ali
Director, Centre for Arab Genomic Studies

Dr. Mahmoud Taleb Al Ali is a Consultant Geneticist, the Head of the Genetics Centre, the Director of Dubai Cord Blood & Research Center, and the Assistant Director of Pathology and Genetics Services at the Dubai Health Authority, Government of Dubai. In addition, he continues to hold the position of the Director of the Centre for Arab Genomic Studies (since its inception in 2002) and as the Secretary General of H.H. Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nahyan Humanitarian and Scientific Foundation (since its inception in 2011; www.sita.ae; www.sbkf.ae). Dr. Al Ali also teaches at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, UAE University as an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Biochemistry since 2001. 

Dr. Al Ali is a graduate (B.Sc. in Clinical Laboratory Science) from the University of Kentucky (USA), holding a Ph.D. (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) from the University of London Medical School (UK). Following a special training in the recent advances in diagnosis of metabolic disorders at the Middlesex School of Medicine, London (1996), he setup single handedly the entire department of Metabolic Genetics that currently serves the entire region. 

Dr. Al Ali has held several important positions in the past and these include, the position of Project Leader at the Dubai Cord Blood and Stem Cell Center (Dubai Health Authority; 2005), the Executive Committee & Founding Member of Dubai Biotechnology and Research Park (2005 to 2008), Assistant Director of Al Wasl Hospital for Clinical Support Services (2000-2002), President of Emirates Thalassemia Society (2001-2002), Head of Federal Laboratories, Northern Emirates, UAE Ministry of Health (1993-1994) and as Head, Dept. of Clinical Chemistry and Immunology (Kuwaiti Hospital, Sharjah, UAE; 1988-1991). 

During this long tenure, he gained extensive experience in not only in clinical diagnostics and genetic metabolic disorders, but also in general administration. He has received several awards for his exemplary work and these include the distinguished Employee of the Year (2001-2002; Dubai Government Sector; by H.H. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoom); Health Services achievements in the Middle East Award (2005; International Hospital Federation, Switzerland); Employee of the Year Award (2001; Department of Health & Medical Services, Dubai); Sheikh Rashid Scientific Prize (1994; Awarded by the Ruler of Dubai); Honorary Kentucky Colonel (1987; Awarded by Governor of Kentucky, USA); Honorary Citizen of Richmond (1987; by Mayor of Richmond, Kentucky, USA); Presidential Scholarship (1986-1987; granted by University of Kentucky, USA); Honorary Dean’s List (1984 – 1985; University of Kentucky, USA). 

Dr. Al Ali has also chaired several professional committees. He has held the chairmanship of many conferences and committees and some of these include; Human Genome Meeting (2011); Scientific Committees of 1st, 2nd and3rd Pan Arab Genetics Conferences, Dubai (2006, 2008 and 2010 respectively); Regional Scientific Committee of 10th International Conference on Thalassemia and Hemoglobinopathies, Dubai (2006); Dubai International Pathogenetics Conference (2005); Arab Lab Conference, Dubai (2004); and Dubai International Genetics Conference (2004). He has given several presentations (National, Regional, and International Conferences) and has published numerous papers in peer-reviewed journals. Dr. Al Ali continues to be a member of several training, organizational, and research committees. Dr. Al Ali is the Principal Investigator of the ongoing project of the Centre for Arab Genomic Studies that has in 2011 entered in its third phase of research with International Collaboration from Switzerland and USA. This successful project has lead to the discovery of two novel loci for Tibial Hemimelia - findings published in American Journal of Medical Genetics (July 2006) and American Journal of Human Genetics (January 2007).